Dangerous driving

There were a couple weeks where I would literally fall asleep at the wheel every morning. No matter what time I went to bed, no matter how awake I felt getting ready, the moment I sat in my car my eyes would start to roll to the back of my head and a couple times I actually fell asleep.

I opened my eyes startled by a car honking. Why? Because I swore I was in my bed and why the heck would there be a car honking my in bed? But even that didn’t keep me from nodding off again 2 minutes later when my heart slowed down.

I tried everything, waking up a bit earlier, waking up later and rushing, drinking a coffee before driving and during. Eating a light breakfast, eating a heavier breakfast, eating while driving, punching my leg, singing loudly but nothing would keep me awake.

I was scared every morning to get behind my wheel. I didn’t know if I would fall asleep that day and not make it to work. And I’m still scared.

However, the one thing I didn’t try was working out in the morning. A new gym just opened up down the street from my house and the boyfriends family all joined. Last Friday was the first day it opened. Knowing I wouldn’t be able to go after work, I decided to get up at 530am and get to the first hot yoga class.

While I was getting ready to go to work after my workout and steam room experience, I felt exhilarated. I had been awake for 3 hours already. I got in my car and drove to work. It was the first day in over a month I didn’t nod off.

Monday morning I didn’t go to the gym, and guess what? I was nodding off again. Tuesday morning I went to the gym and my drive in was smooth!

But today I went to the gym and for about 80% of the drive I was fine, until I got closer to work and I felt my eyes rolling.

I thought I found a solution to my dangerous driving.

I can’t not drive to work, otherwise I have no way of getting in. Does anyone have a solution? Or some idea as to how I can keep myself from seriously injuring myself and possibly others??

1 Comment

Filed under My life

One response to “Dangerous driving

  1. Pingback: Dangerous driving | MY Lover

Leave a Reply

